September 29

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read If You Like Humans of New York

September 29, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish in which they select a topic every week, and the rest of us get to make Top Ten lists based on that topic. This week’s topic: This Super Popular Book/Author (ie: you could list 10 different popular/bestselling books or authors with readalike suggestions for each or give 10 books for one best-selling/popular book or author like 10 authors to read if you like John Green or ten books to read if you like Gone Girl. Idea is to give good readalikes that may be less well known). I am a huge fan of things that provide me with some inspiration or motivation. I so love getting to know people and their life stories. This list is for people like me who like short snippets that give us a snapshot into the lives of others. If you like Humans of New York, then give these books a shot:

Books That Give You Brief Snapshots of Life:

Letters of Note: An Eclectic Collection of Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience by Shaun Usher – This was one of my favorite reads of 2014, and I know there is another book being released this fall. I just loved seeing copies of actual hand written letters from a wide array of people living a wide array of lifestyles. Truly fascinating!

O’s Little Book of Happiness – Although this wasn’t my favorite inspirational read, I did enjoy the snapshots into the lives of many famous people you are aware of.

Out of Chaos: Hidden Children Remember the Holocaust – I read this as part of my book club, and I was able to meet a few of the authors of some of the stories included in this collection. A rare look into the lives of so many children who survived the Holocaust by being hidden in the homes of others. This is one you can’t miss!

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life From Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed – You all know how much I love all things Cheryl Strayed, and this book is no exception. Even though you don’t know most of the people asking for advice, this book reflects the lives of those close to you. It also gives you such a snapshot of how Strayed approaches life.

Ten Years Later: Six People Who Faced Adversity and Transformed Their Lives by Hoda Kotb – If ever you are feeling sorry for yourself, then check out this book. Here are glimpses into the lives of 6 people who overcome significant odds to lead amazing lives of inspiration. Some stories moved me more than others, but it does put your own problems into perspective.

Books The Provide Life Snapshots Within a Bigger Story:

True Notebooks: A Writer’s Year at Juvenile Hall by Mark Salzman – I was so intrigued with this autobiography of one man’s experience volunteering with the most violent offenders in an LA juvenile unit. You hear the stories behind how the young men and women came to be in prison and what their futures look like. It was a profound read for me! I want to read more of Salzman’s work, but I don’t think it will even come close to having the impact that this book did.

The Serial Killer Whisperer by Pete Earley – So this book is totally creepy and very unsettling but so fascinating at the same time. Earley recounts his own medical and mental health struggles and how he developed relationships with killers on death row in his attempt to heal is own wounds. It is so beyond understanding how Earley connects with these men. I will warn you that you may lose sleep, but I was drawn into this book.

The First Family Detail by Ronald Kessler – If you have any interest in getting the inside scoop on the First Families from the last several decades, then this is the book for you. It provides you with the good, the bad, and the ugly about people we all know. I did get a little bored by the end, but I did love the inside information I learned (I won’t give any of it away though so that you can learn about it all on your own).

You’ll Never Nanny in This Town Again by Suzanne Hansen – If First Families don’t do it for you, maybe the inside scoop on the lives of Hollywood bigwigs does. Hansen shares the dirt she learned during her nannying days.

What books do you recommend that share snippets into the lives of others?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Tags: , , , , , ,

Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.

Posted September 29, 2015 by Lisa @ Reading, Writing, and Random Musings in category "Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *